Twelve of Anchor’s older people’s housing schemes across England have been shortlisted in the Elderly Accommodation Counsel (EAC) Awards 2017. 

The Anchor retirement schemes have been nominated for a top prize out of the almost 25,000 retirement housing schemes or developments nationwide.

The awards, now in their 7th year, celebrate the best specialist housing for older people, and aim to help shape the future of housing in later life through engaging over ten thousand residents, staff, visitors and volunteers who were all able to vote for their favourite scheme out of the 1,180 nominated between 15 November 2016 and 28 February 2017.

John Galvin, EAC’s Chief Executive, explained the importance of the awards: "Specialist housing for older people plays an enormously significant role in helping them stay independent for longer. The security, support and great communities have a positive impact on individuals and reduce the need for NHS services.”

The twelve schemes are:

  • Anchor Court  Nottingham - Winner
  • Bengeworth Court  Wellingborough, Northamptonshire - Winner
  • Castle Hall  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire - Winner
  • Greenbank Court  Darlington, Co Durham - Commended
  • Guardian Court  York - Commended
  • Hawkshead Court  Newton Aycliffe, Co. Durham - Commended
  • Hollyoak House  Blyth, Northumberland - Commended
  • Lowlands Court  Wolverhampton, West Midlands - Commended
  • Miriam Court  West Bridgford, Nottingham - Commended
  • Ranulph Court  Manchester - Commended
  • St Christophers House  Morpeth, Northumberland - Commended
  • Vicarage Court  Oxford - Commended

Gill Walsh, Manager for Bengeworth Court in Wellingboroughsaid: “We’re thrilled to have been shortlisted for this award as it means that staff, residents and visitors are really happy with the scheme."

The EAC Awards will be celebrated at Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham on 16th May 2017 where the bronze, silver and gold awards winners will be announced.

View all