Central to the Care Act 2014 is the idea of ‘wellbeing’. This starts from the assumption that an individual is best placed to judge their own wellbeing.

Wellbeing relates to the following areas:

  • Personal dignity and respect
  • Physical and mental health and emotional wellbeing
  • Protection from abuse and neglect
  • Individual control over everyday life
  • Participation in work, education and training
  • Social and economic wellbeing
  • Positive family and personal relationships
  • Suitability of living accommodation

Independent living is a central aspect of the wellbeing principle. The Care Act therefore requires local authorities to focus on preventing, reducing or delaying care and support needs, rather than simply responding at the point of crisis.

Under the Care Act 2014 local authorities will have a responsibility to ensure the integration of care and support provision with health and health-related services, including housing. This joint working aims to ensure that individuals are able to live as independently as possible for as long as possible.

They will also need to put in place a system where individuals have the information they need to take control of their care and support. This will enable them to choose the options that are right for them.

The Department of Health has released this leaflet on Getting the right care and support for you.

Download our free full guide to The Care Act 2014: How it affects you (719 KB)